My Near Death Experience in Thailand

Image

It’s been a dream of mine to go to Thailand.  I LOVE Thai food.  I love the beach.  It always looks like paradise in movies and pictures.

My boyfriend is a TV writer and has a crazy schedule.  He had just finished working on the first season of a show called “The Following” and was drained.  I was wrapping my web series, “Destroy the Alpha Gammas” and we were like, let’s go far far away!

I’ve always thought, Oh, when I book this or that acting job I’ll get to travel around the world!  Or: when I’m a successful singer I will go to Thailand and Australia and Paris etc, etc…

I think that mindset has prevented me from focusing on my happiness.  TODAY’s happiness.  Like, my life will begin when a,b, and c happen.  I will be happy and do all the things I wanna do when I achieve a, b and c.  I’m starting to realize that life isn’t about to begin.  It’s begun!  So I gotta start enjoying it, whether or not the best is yet to come!  Sounds dumb but… going to Thailand was a big step for me.

It was stunning.  The people are so nice.  I felt like I was a million miles away from everything, which was exactly what we needed

We took several planes.  LA-Korea.  Korea-Bangkok.  Bangkok-Phuket.  Phuket-Korea.  Korea-LA.

I already have a bit of a fear of flying.  Flying seems unnatural to me.  My brain still doesn’t understand how it’s possible.  I fly a lot so it’s something I just put up with.  But let me tell you, we experienced the WORST turbulence of my life.  The flight to Korea was the scariest flight ever.  I’ve experienced turbulence, but not like THAT.  The plane kept dropping and everyone would gasp in unison.  The babies were crying.  I was crying in my boyfriend’s arms.  I was like, we’re all going to die.  For sure.  It’s happening.

Then I thought to myself: Well, this is the end, what could I have done differently?  What could I have done differently so I wouldn’t be dying tonight on this plane?  And then it started to hit me:  What was I supposed to do-  NOT get on the plane?  NOT go to Thailand?…  No way!  The only way that you’re going to be safe from a plane crash is if you never get on a plane and never go anywhere.  F that.  So if I’m going to die on my Thailand trip, so be it.  I’m going to live my life and do the things I want to do, for better or worse.  If I’m going to die, let it be in the pursuit of happiness.  I felt a bit of calm wash over me.

And… I survived  🙂

ImageImageImageImageImage

One thought on “My Near Death Experience in Thailand

  1. zandra urbina says:

    I am soooo glad you had this beautiful experience in the company of your sweet boyfriend. Life is to be lived, fear prevent us from living our life to the fullest. I am glad you realized that and that you are living your life, and enjoying it without waiting for a,b,c, x, y, to happen. I love you and I am glad you cam
    e back full of stories to tell us.

Leave a Reply

